Rejection – ‘Love Hurts’

There are many of us living with rejection, often not knowing why, so I very much liked a quote I read – an adaptation of it is the featured image.

When I explored the subject for a blog, I was surprised to find how many people are living in this ‘wasteland’ of rejection.

And then a special friend sent me a copy of a ‘sermonette’ he was going to give… and although he titled it differently, ‘Love hurts;  it is bordering on the same subject.

JohnSo… many thanks to John Reiss for sharing his message, I enjoyed it, I hope you do also.

John looks at the subject from a Biblical perspective, and I must admit, I had never thought of some of these people in this light.

First he gives the dictionary definition…

“Rejection is defined as “the spurning of a person’s affections,”

Dictionary.com tells us that the root of rejection is from the Latin word rējectiō, which means a throwing back.”

John goes on to give several Biblical examples, one, a different way of looking at an old story…  Jacob, Leah, and Rachel. If you don’t know the story, it’s in the Bible, in Genesis 29. Background information… Jacob worked for seven years so he could have Rachel as a wife.

wedding of Jacob and Leab
freebibleimages.org

But her father (Laban) ‘pulled a switch’ and Jacob found he had married her older sister instead.

John quotes Mrs. Vickie Craft, a Minister to Women at the Northwest Bible Church in Dallas, who writes …

“Leah was a woman who lived with the pain of rejection every day of her life.”  Laban shirked his responsibility to find a husband for his elder daughter and palmed Leah off on the love-struck Jacob “like a dishonest businessman getting rid of damaged goods as full price.”

Mrs. Craft tells us to imagine Jacob’s shock, distaste, and anger when he saw Leah in the morning light, and also reminds us to consider how Leah would have felt by his response…

There is more in the quote, but I wanted to stop there and consider, for the first time I admit, Leah’s feelings.

From the story in the Bible, Leah never gave up hope of gaining her husband’s affection –

31  When the LORD saw that Leah was not loved, he enabled her to conceive, but Rachel remained childless.

32  Leah became pregnant and gave birth to a son. She named him Reuben, for she said, “It is because the LORD has seen my misery. Surely my husband will love me now.”

33  She conceived again, and when she gave birth to a son she said, “Because the LORD heard that I am not loved, he gave me this one too.” So she named him Simeon.

34  Again she conceived, and when she gave birth to a son she said, “Now at last my husband will become attached to me, because I have borne him three sons.” So he was named Levi.

35  She conceived again, and when she gave birth to a son she said, “This time I will praise the LORD.” So she named him Judah. Then she stopped having children.

Emphasis mine

It seems she took her misery and sorrow to God, and although there is no record of Jacob ever loving his wife Leah, God provided her with *consolations*. Leah had six sons and one daughter.

Nevertheless, she was a woman who lived with rejection.

Next time – John looks at Joseph, one of Rachel’s two sons.

Leave a Reply

