Cockatoos and Paul’s Thorn

Australian crow

 

 

So far I have not seen one crow. There are many birds around here, doing damage to my host’s fruit

So why the reference to crows? Because Wagga Wagga (pronounced Wawga Wawga) means ‘place of many crows’. Perhaps when the original Aboriginal people came to the place, there were many crows, but Wagga is now a fairly large country city.

Although I have not seen a crow, or its cousin the raven, I have seen many sulphur-crested cockatoos.

Sulphur-crested Cockatoo

 

Cockatoo, crest displaye

The crest seems to reflect the bird’s emotions.

When it is excited or alarmed, the feathers are fully extended, reaching far forward over the bird’s head. A bird at rest, or one which doesn’t feel well, will have its crest feathers flattened against the back of its head.
http://billabongsanctuary.com.au/native-animals/birds/sulphur-crested-cockatoo/

Lying in bed, listening to the pre-dawn chorus, I enjoyed the musical notes of the smaller birds and thought about the ‘cocky’.  Strident, or raucous, best describes the call of this bird. It was not singing in the pre-dawn chorus.  However, as I thought about this lovely bird, and the not-so-nice sound it makes, my thoughts turned to the Apostle Paul.

“Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.”
2 Cor 12: 7b

Now I am not suggesting that God created this beautiful bird species, then gave it one of the most raucous calls, in order to prevent it from becoming conceited. No, only sharing a linked thought. It is amazing what we can learn from contemplating God’s creation.

Many of us have ‘thorns’, are we able to accept them as Paul did?

My  Grace quote

Just thinking

Susan

Leave a Reply

