On God’s Side

And will not God bring about justice for His chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will He keep putting them off? I tell you, He will see that they get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will He find faith on the earth? 
Luke 18: 7,8

Circumstances in the last few months have led me to ponder the meaning of this scripture.

My husband died, and it was not an easy death. (As mentioned in a previous post he died of ‘end-stage’ pulmonary fibrosing… his lungs ‘smothered’ him.)

“You will be angry with God”, said staff at the hospice, “but don’t worry, God can take it.”

Why should I be angry with God?

  • Because Geoff died?
  • Because He didn’t heal Geoff? After all, over many years so many people prayed for him.
  • Because Geoff had the disease? Oh, that’s right. Idiopathic pulmonary fibrosing, that’s what they called it because they didn’t know the cause.

No. I loved my husband completely. He was my best friend as well as my husband. But I know God loved him more. I saw God’s mercy toward him… and experienced (and still do) His loving mercy toward me when things are too much.

I am not angry with God, nor can I see that I should be angry with God simply because I was told it was part of the grieving process.

I trust God.

I am sometimes unbearably sad. Countless times I have taken my tears and grief to God. Yes, out of all of this, that’s one positive. I recognise my complete dependence on God.

submitSnaggitLooking at the pain I see in my brethren, the losses they suffer, the hurts and trials they are going through, some suffering persecution… and  I can only pray for each of them.

I pray for relief for them, and also that He will give each of them the strength to cope with what is going on in his or her life.

Because the way I look at the scripture I started with, it seems to be a matter of trust. Do I trust God to work His purpose out? I think that is the precursor of the faith the Son of Man will look to find.

Doesn’t the ‘Lord’s Prayer’ have in it, ‘Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven’ ?

Did Christ ‘practice what he preached’?

Yes He did. In the Garden of Gethsemane, knowing He faced a horrifying death, He prayed…

“Father, if you are willing, take this cup away from me. Yet not my will but yours be done.

God's will be done

So, if I became angry with God… would it not be because God’s will was done, not mine?

I don’t want that kind of responsibility.  God has the ‘big picture’. I trust Him to work His purpose out… and pray we will ALL have the strength to endure and have the faith He is looking for when He returns.

To quote Abraham Lincoln…

Abraham Lincoln quote

Just sharing some thoughts as I plod along this path, and consider the tests and trials of some dear friends and brethren.

Susan

Leave a Reply

