A revelation from Microsoft’s Bookmark function

I discovered something interesting this morning. Before I tell you what I discovered, please let me tell you what led up to it.

Although I hadn’t been keen on it, I decided after all to publish my novel on Smashwords. That way buyers (like Geoff) didn’t have to have a Kindle. He could read it on his e-reader.

How hard could it be?

I had already formatted the original document for Kindle… surely I could just submit that.

Wrong!

I downloaded the Style guide… and found I had a whole bunch of work to do. Every section break had to be removed… and there were many of them. (It is a long book. Smashword category is epic for over 100,000 words and Hold the Faith has now more than 120,000.)

So then I moved on to the next set of alterations, and so on, and so on.

Lana thinkingWhen I reached the part that said the Microsoft Word TOC was not good and to make my own with Bookmarks and hyperlinks… I skipped the pages. Too much. The manager of the training centre where I worked until a few years ago said she could never master Bookmarks. I felt vindicated for refusing to put them in.

In the fresh light of day…

I looked at all I had done – and thought. I was risking it being rejected from their machine by not doing it properly. Mmm.

I had memorised the page on the PDF, 69, so typed that in and looked at it again. It still looked intimidating. Funny, I hadn’t had to use bookmarks in my Microsoft Word 2007 certification. Sigh.

I read the instructions again and it was still confusing.

I saved a ‘pre-bookmarks’ version of the manuscript.  I didn’t want to have to go through all those other alterations again.

Then I started.

The instructions, once I started, were so easy. They had looked like a foreign tongue but when I started doing them… it was so simple!

And that’s where the lesson came in. I have heard our ministers say ‘as we keep the commandments, we understand them.’ Or was it ‘as we keep the Holy Days we understand them’? Probably both. But that experience with Microsoft’s Bookmarks confirmed the truth of those statements.

shofar

Thank you Smashwords for a spiritual revelation.

Shalom

Susan

4 thoughts on “A revelation from Microsoft’s Bookmark function

  1. Buying Neopoints

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am happy to show that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most unquestionably will make sure to do not fail to remember this site and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

    Like

  2. buy neopoints

    Excellent items from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff previous to and you’re simply too magnificent. I actually like what you’ve got here, certainly like what
    you’re stating and the way wherein you are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.

    Like

  3. http://neobillionaire.com

    Hey excellent blog! Does running a blog similar to
    this take a massive amount work? I’ve no understanding of computer programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic however I just had to ask. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

